

## Meeting Summary – Tuesday 21 June 2022

Location: Innovation Lab, Room 05.133 on Level 5 of 480 Northbourne Avenue, Dickson plus Microsoft Teams for attendees not able to face to face.

Date: Tuesday 21 June 2022

Time: 2:00 pm - 4:30 pm

Attendees: Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA, Minister for Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction Dr Arnagretta Hunter, Associate Professor Cris Brack, Professor Mark Howden (Chair), Ms Mia Swainson, Dr Paul Bannister, Ms Sophia Hamblin-Wang, Dr Tom Longden, Mr Djibin Mudford, Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee, Climate Change & Energy Division representatives

Apologies: Ms Roslyn Brown, Associate Professor Aparna Lal, Mr Ben Ponton.

Council Secretariat: Climate Change & Energy Division

## Summary

This was the fifth ACT Climate Change Council (Council) meeting of the 2021-22 financial year. The Chair welcomed observers from the Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee and talked about a Council paper prepared to address a committee member's concerns about the environmental impact of solar farms and panels. The Council discussed a proposal to consider how it might prioritise requests for advice from the Climate Action Cabinet Subcommittee, other Ministers, the Directorate, and external groups. The Chair invited the Council to discuss progress on its workplan with the Minister. The Directorate gave a presentation to Council about its work on adaptation highlighting its links to the Living Infrastructure Plan, the ACT Climate Change Risk Assessment, and other strategies. Council agreed to a proposed approach to developing a Community Engagement Strategy.