

Meeting Summary – Tuesday 19 April 2022

Location: Online (Microsoft Teams)

Time: 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm

Attendees: Mr Shane Rattenbury MLA, Minister for Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction, Professor Mark Howden (Chair), Ms Mia Swainson, Dr Arnagretta Hunter, Associate Professor Aparna Lal, Ms Sophia Hamblin Wang, Dr Thomas Longden, Dr Paul Bannister, Associate Professor Cris Brack, Mr Jim Corrigan (Acting Deputy Director General standing in for Mr Ben Ponton), Dr Sophie Lewis, ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment, Mr Djibin Mudford, Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee, Ms Roslyn Brown, Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee, Climate Change and Energy Division representatives.

Apologies: Mr Ben Ponton

Council Secretariat: Climate Change and Energy Division

Summary

This was the fourth ACT Climate Change Council (Council) meeting of the 2021-22 financial year. The Chair invited Mr Mudford from the Dhawura Ngunnawal Caring for Country Committee to explore options for strengthening the Council's engagement with First Nations peoples. The Secretariat is discussing a workshop for the Council hosted by the Committee. Dr Lewis gave an overview of her work as the ACT Commissioner for Sustainability and the Environment and a presentation about Scope 1, 2 and 3 greenhouse gas emissions. Dr Lewis's presentation looked at: Scope 1 emissions released inside the city caused by activities occurring in the city; Scope 2 emissions released by grid-supplied electricity and energy purchased for use inside the city; and Scope 3 emissions released outside of the city through activities occurring inside it. The Chair invited Council members to discuss the Council's Workplan with the Minister.